MLB announces 2013 awards finalists

The announcement of "finalists" for each of the BBWAA's awards is something that started last year, and really doesn't accomplish much of anything. Essentially, a week before the awards begin to get unveiled, the top three vote getters are released with no indication on which of the three is the winner. Hell, the winner could have won unanimously, while everyone that finished second through sixth on the ballot could be separated by single digits.

At any rate, here are the finalists for each award.

AL Rookie of the Year: Chris Archer, Jose Iglesias, Wil Myers
NL Rookie of the Year: Jose Fernandez, Shelby Miller, Yasiel Puig
AL Manager of the Year: John Farrell, Terry Francona, Bob Melvin
NL Manager of the Year: Fredi Gonzalez, Clint Hurdle, Don Mattingly
AL Cy Young: Yu Darvish, Hisashi Iwakuma, Max Scherzer
NL Cy Young: Jose Fernandez, Clayton Kershaw, Adam Wainwright
AL MVP: Miguel Cabrera, Chris Davis, Mike Trout
NL MVP: Paul Goldschmidt, Andrew McCutchen, Yadier Molina.

The Rookies of the Year will be announced on Monday, the Managers on Tuesday, the Cy Youngs on Wednesday, and the MVPs on Thursday next week.

About Joe Lucia

I hate your favorite team. I also sort of hate most of my favorite teams.